My Top 5 Favorite Games of All Time!

As a new blogger I feel like nobody knows me, especially my small amount of followers. So I decided to do something, albeit boring and predictable, to let you guys get to know me better. This list is my favorite games list! My top five is honestly really not settled, the fifth game on this list is constantly changing. My top four though have been my favorites for years, so those at least aren’t going anywhere.

So let’s get right into it!

Number 5: Bravely Default
slide_character_six


Bravely Default is one of the best JRPGs I have ever played. I have started up and tried to finish so many JRPGs and they all usually follow the same story and the same cycle eventually. Bravely Default, ironically, broke that cycle and ended up becoming one of the most fun experiences I had ever had with my 3DS. I maxed out every class and every character. I found ways to absolutely decimate the game and grind out a bunch of gold. The game is just so fun and so open ended, it lets you do as you please. You can play any class you want mix and match any skills you want as well. It’s such a fun concept. The story is very amazing as well.

If you want to play a very solid and fun JRPG, look no further.



Number 4: Harvest Moon: Back to Nature
12911615944_0b2efa1586_o-56a9c3a25f9b58b7d0fec9ad


The Harvest Moon series is one of my favorite. The games are so unique and quirky, they’re pretty hard to replicate. We have games now a days like Stardew Valley that do a very good job at emulating the feel of the Harvest Moon series, but it doesn’t hit the mark at all. The Harvest Moon games, for those uninformed, are based around farming. I know, sounds boring. But it isn’t at all. You grow vegetables, fruit and eventually you get to have livestock. You sell and trade all your products to make money. You can give gifts to people in the village and eventually one of them will fall in love with you and you guys end up having a child. The game is very quirky but it’s also very relaxing and there’s just something about it that I love. I always come back to this game at least once a year.


Number 3: Metal Gear Solid 2
metal-gear-solid-2-sons-of-liberty-1


This was honestly the hardest choice for me. The Metal Gear Solid series is, by far, my favorite game series of all time. The whole overarching story of Big Boss and Solid Snake is so moving. These games are ground breaking and have shaped the future of gaming as a whole. I love and respect them for being different and also being trend setters in the world of gaming.

Now, Metal Gear Solid 2 is a very contrarian choice. Most of the fan base dislikes this game because of the fact that the game tricks you from the beginning. In Metal Gear Solid 1 you play as Solid Snake and you fall in love with him. In Metal Gear Solid 2 you start out playing as him and then you get passed the tutorial level and you get an amazing cinematic that pays homage to the first game and you see the main character take off his make and it’s Raiden. Raiden is a wimp. He sucks. He has the most hi-pitched annoying voice. The complete antithesis of Snake. The game then divulges into the most meta and fantastic story in the series. I feel that many fans are blinded by their distaste of the game solely because of the switch the game does. I find it the game amazing in almost every single facet and I feel that the game is the pinnacle of game play and story telling for the series.



Number 2: Bayonetta 2
bayonetta21280jpg-800626_1280w


Now we’re getting to the good stuff. Bayonetta 1 was my second favorite game of all time for a while. Then Bayonetta 2 came out and I beat it in one sitting and I constantly kept thinking, “wow this is even better than the first one,” and here we are. Bayonetta 2 is something very very special. This game pretty much sums up me as a person and my personal taste in pretty much everything in life. The humor, style, dialogue, gameplay, aesthetic and music is totally me. Bayonetta is a sassy dominatrix witch that fights angels with her hair to a poppy remix jazz-tunes, the main theme song is a remix of Fly Me to The Moon by Frank Sinatra (Ironically that song is also my favorite anime ending song as well). The story is bizarre but easy to follow, Bayonetta is a 900 year old witch that has been resurrected to destroy the angels that betrayed her, her daughter and her best friend. Angels and the Pope are the bad guys. Witches and the devil are the good guys.

The game gets a lot of flack for being “too full of fan service”. Bayonetta is a very sexual and strong woman, but she isn’t vulnerable, anytime she flaunts herself to the camera it is by her own doing. The character is beautiful and independent. She is portrayed to be the ‘perfect human’. She has the model walk, the pursed lips, she’s eight feet tall, slender and has curves. She’s a walking contradiction. She’s very quirky in every sense. That’s why I love her.

The character Bayonetta pretty much is the embodiment of the game. I love this game and this character so much. There’s a reason why it’s my number two!



Number 1: Okami
okami-desktop-wallpaper_044210170_238


Sigh. This one is going to be tough. Okami is and will always be my favorite game of all time. I have beaten this game at least once every year for the last ten years. You know how I said that Bayonetta encompasses everything about me? Okami does this as well. Bayonetta and Okami were made by the same director, writer and studio. When they made Okami they were called Clover Studios then they changed their name to Platinum Studios. The brain behind these games is a man named Hideki Kamiya.

Just thinking about Okami fills me with emotion and if we’re being honest here, I’m having a hard time keeping myself together writing about this game.

Okami does something that all video games should aspire to do. It oozes style and creativity at every corner. The world unfolds and unravels with the story in such a seamless way. The characters are warm, loving, funny, inviting and they’re people you want to spend time with.

Okami is a game about God and how God can breathe life back into a world that has been taken over by demons and utter chaos. In the world all the Gods’ have been removed from their temples, removed from the lives of rulers and from the people. The older generation talks about how Gods’ used to be apart of everybody’s daily lives and now they’re gone and nobody has seen or heard of them for 100 years.

This is where you come in. You play as a mute wolf named Amaterasu. Amaterasu in Japanese mythology is the mother of the gods and after a 100 year slumber she awakens to all of her children being ignored and the world that she worked so hard to garner into an era of happiness is in ruins.

There is so much I want to talk about with this game, but honestly I can’t. That’s why I’m going to do an in-depth review of Okami as my next big project. I don’t know how long this will take. But I will be making a review for this beautiful and underrated game.


 

 (Thank you guys so much for reading my second blog post! I’m going to try and make two posts a week at most. They’ll probably be small little ideas I have, nothing too big. I want to make a review at least twice a month currently. Since I’m a new reviewer and blogger I really don’t get many free games. Plus I’m a poor college student so I REALLY can’t get many games. But when I do start getting them I will be posting a lot more. Trust me! I know my next three reviews are going to be for Shiness, Okami and The Last Guardian. So keep a look out for those.)

– Quest
Twitter
Twitch

 

My last review: Owlboy Review – “I’m not crying, you’re crying.”

9 Comments

  1. Well I’ve only played one of those ;-). I’d like to play Bayonetta 2 but I’m not going to buy a console for it especially. Bravely Default does interest me, but having the time to put into a JRPG is often the problem! Nice to see you talking about games you love!

    Like

    Reply

      1. Nope! Funnily enough I mentioned that one in my blog about critical acclaimed games that I never played. It came out whilst I was at university and money was tight. I missed out on a lot of games around that era.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m playing Okami right now for the first time on PS3, and it’s beautiful. It’s amazing how “old” the game is, but it still looks and feels so beautiful; it doesn’t age. Not enough games depict the joy of being in nature so well.

    On top of that, the game celebrates Japanese culture so well. I can tell that the developers were very passionate about sharing their culture, and they worked hard to create this game. It helps that I’ve studied some Japanese history. But the beautiful artwork of Okami could appeal to a wide audience.

    Like

    Reply

    1. Exactly! Okami is such a time less game. It really takes the Zelda formula and improves on it in such a special and beautiful way.
      I really wish Nintendo would take a risk like that with one of their flagship Zelda titles.
      Glad you’re loving the game though. Let me know when you finish it!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  3. From your list, I can only say I’ve played Harvest Moon, but not the one you’ve mentioned here! My favourite is HM64, but I was introduced to the series by Tree of Tranquility and have been trying to collect the rest of them ever since!

    I’m looking forward to reading more from you. Welcome to blogging!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

