My Top 5 Games of 2016!

This year has been a year full of many let downs. There were only a few games that I have played this year that I honestly thought were remotely good. And usually every year there are many that I play that I like. The pool to pick from this time around for me was only about ten or so games. Every other game I have touched this year has been a disappointment or just bad. Most of my gaming time I had this year has been spent on games that are older. I have nothing against old games, don’t get me wrong, but I do have a huge problem against this years many releases being rather lackluster. The five games and its runner ups are the best I played this year. In my personal opinion these five games happen to be some of the best games we have seen in gaming in many years and I hope the trend of these games continue on into the next few years.

My top five this year are games that I truly loved and games that are very innovative and push the envelope. These are the games I will be annoying people about for the next couple of years, without further ado, let’s get into the runner ups!

 


 

Runner ups:

 Uncharted 4: A Thieves End

Uncharted 4 was a very fun and exciting game. It tied up the Uncharted series in a way not many of us were expecting. Everything else before the final chapter was alright. The inclusion of Sam, Nathan’s brother that we have NEVER heard about prior, was one I was iffy on. I loved his character. Overall Uncharted 4 delivered a very pleasurable experience, one I would obviously recommend to everyone.

 Overwatch

What’s there not to like about this game? Beautiful graphics, beautiful characters, great personality, fun, engaging combat, deep game mechanics, a strong community and a great developer. I have had a lot of fun with Overwatch  this year. I just wish it had a campaign to go along with it.

 

Now lets’ get into the REAL TOP 5


 

 

5. DOOM 2016

doom

DOOM 2016 is a special game. DOOM originally was the series that started the first person shooter genre and was really a unique and visceral experience for the time. The legacy and history of DOOM is, well, monumental. After many years of us not having a new game from ID Software, the fans were foaming at the mouth for a new DOOM game. What we got was something nobody expected. DOOM 2016 takes the feeling of original DOOM and brings it into the modern age. The game is unapologetically visceral and fast. It is the best FPS campaign we’ve seen in years and it is one of the most FUN games I have played this year.

The thing I really loved about DOOM 2016  is its sense of humor. The game is so graphic and SO intense, but it’s broken up with sparks of humor. The game has a very specific sense of humor though. When you wake up in the game there’s a person on the over comm saying, “hey everyone we need people to volunteer for our weekly sacrifice, please let us know who’s willing to go, it would really help us out a lot, thanks.” You’re on a base on Mars that is run by religious zealots that need sacrifices to summon demons. You’re a bad ass. You’re the one dude who can stop this, the DOOM SLAYER. And you learn all of this within the first minute or so of the game. And the rest of the time is spent RIPPING AND TEARING demons limb from limb and quickly making your way into hell to kill more demons. The soundtrack is PHENOMENAL. The humor is odd. The gunplay and overall feel of the game is fantastic. DOOM 2016 is such a wild and fun ride.

doom gif.gif

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4. Dragon Quest Builders

dragon_quest_builders_art

I literally know don’t know anyone that has played this game and it’s honestly very sad. Dragon Quest Builders is a fun, lighthearted and an addicting sim-game.
Do you like Minecraft? Yeah, cool. Okay, so add the formula of Minecraft to a game that has a cohesive story. Alright. Now add JRPG elements to that. Okay. Now add Animal Crossing elements to that. You got it? Okay. Now you have Dragon Quest Builders.

You’re the only hero in this world that has the ability to build. The bad guy in the game has cast an evil spell over the land and destroyed villages. There’s a prophecy of the ‘builder’ that is supposed to come to the lands and help the people rebuild their lives. It’s up to you to go to the different continents in the world and rebuild a city and fight that continents boss, to eventually bring light to the land. Each chapter is represented as a different continent. And each continent builds on the recipes and abilities you learned in the last chapter. The game is immense and huge. It’s a very VERY amazing and fun game to get lost in.

dragon-quest_03

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3. OWLBOY

imgowlboygamersgatebackground

I wrote a review for Owlboy here.

Owlboy is a hand pixelated game that took ten years to make. The sprites in this game are immaculate. Everything from the characters to the backgrounds in this game are just amazing to look at. The gameplay is fun and the characters are genuinely a treat to be around and experience. Owlboy perfectly blends a Metroidvania and Twinstick shooter gameplay into a Zelda-like game.

We need more games like OWLBOY, more games that aren’t afraid to be themselves and be unique without worrying about the qualms and needs of a triple-A gaming audience.

owlboy gif.gif

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2. Va-11 Hall-A

va11

This is the only game I have played this year that I consider 100% perfect. I wish I would have played it sooner so I could write a review for it, but alas, here it is. The only 10/10 game I have played this year is Va-11 Hall-A.

Official Story Synopsis:
VA-11 HALL-A: Cyberpunk Bartender Action is a booze em’ up about waifus, technology, and post-dystopian life. In this world, corporations reign supreme, all human life is infected with nano-machines designed to oppress them, and the terrifying White Knights ensure that everyone obeys the laws. But, this is not about those people. You are a bartender at VA-11 HALL-A, affectionately nicknamed ” Valhalla.” Although it is just a small bar downtown, it attracts the most fascinating people this side of dystopia. Keep your clients lubricated and you will be made privy to the most interesting stories.

Va-11 Hall-A is such a unique game. You play the game as a bartender named Jill. Every morning you wake up and check your message boards and check your news sites then you go into work, this serves as a different view into the story and the people in the game. You serve drinks to the patrons and the patrons will talk about their lives. Through them talking about their lives and what is going on in the world you learn about the setting and story of this game. The game is set in a dystopian future. Imagine the anime Akira. Everything is neon and trashy. The economy is in shambles and there are riots in the street daily. What happens during the game is something to behold. The story that you experience as a bystander is immaculate. Va-11 Hall-A is utterly funny and quirky. It knows what it is from the get go and is not afraid to show its true colors. The game is honest, endearing and beautiful. If you have 15 dollars to throw at a game, this would be the one to do it to. The game was made by a small studio named SUKEBAN GAMES that is made up of THREE people.

va11

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Game of The Year: The Last Guardian

tlg-2

I wrote and recorded a video of The Last Guardian here

The Last Guardian is the best game I have ever played in my entire life. Never have I been more emotionally involved and attached to a character than I was with Trico. I bawled my eyes out during the ending cinematic. I cried so hard I had TEARS and SNOT running down my face and I shook and said, “NO, no no-no nonononoo” outloud in a tortured moan. Then the ending cut scene happened and I was still crying but this time I shouted, “YES” as loud as I could with a smile on my face. Trico and the boy in this game gave me an adventure I never thought I would be able to experience in my life time. The bond between a boy and his dog. Of man and nature becoming one and overcoming their differences and forming a bond of friendship through no words spoken. The Last Guardian is beautiful and it is truly the best game of the year and possibly the decade. The game gives you a single solitary experience you won’t be able to experience anywhere else in any other medium. In no other medium would this story work and be this powerful. This is truly an experience that can only be had through games.


 Hey guys, thanks for checking out my list! It means a lot to me! I really appreciate every single one of you that likes and comments on my blogs. You should definitely follow me on twitter to get more updates or you can talk to me if you want, I don’t bite! I hope you all have a happy holidays!
– Quest
Twitter:  here
YouTube: here

4 Comments

  1. Final Fantasy XV narrowly edged out The Last Guardian as my favorite game of 2016, so I definitely agree with it taking your top spot. It really is an incredible experience, despite its weird gameplay flaws and camera issues.

    I’ve been interested in VA-11 HALL-A since its launch on PC, but as a console heathen I decided to hold off until it launches on Vita later on. Looks great! Owlboy is another PC game that I can’t wait to play on console.

    Solid list! Doom was so, so good.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

